Pre-Trip Expectations

As the time gets closer to us leaving for Cape Town I begin to think about why I decided to go on this trip and what I want to get out of it. 

The first thing I want to learn on this trip is about the South African culture. I am interested in the history of why South Africa is the way it is now. Also, I am very excited about visiting some of the historical sites they have to offer. Some things that might be hard for us is their language and etiquette. Every place has different rules so it will be interesting to learn some of theirs. 

The second thing I want to get out of this trip is to learn more about the apartheid. We learned a few things for our test from the internet but I want to get first hand stories from those who lived through that time. I can not imagine living in a time where certain people can not be together in certain places. 

Lastly, I want to learn about the economy. I want to know how the people make their living, about the rich and the poor, and about how people are effected by the economy. I think all of our classes we will be taking while we are there will answer a lot of the questions I have. 

I am very excited about going out of the country for the first time and I am happy that my first experience will be in South Africa. This is a great experience that I will never forget. 

 

Leave a Reply

