Pre-trip expectations

What do i hope to gain from this one of a kind experience to South Africa?

I WILL gain a trip that I will never forget with many of my close friends. It will be an experience that will last a lifetime and show me cultures I have never had the opportunity to enjoy learning about. I am EXTREMELY excited to see the many different landmarks that Cape Town has to offer. Hiking 3,000 feet up Table Rock is going to be one of the major highlights of the trip for me. I know the view is going to be AMAZING. In the research we had to do prior to the trip we learned that small businesses and entrepreneurs thrive in South Africa. I am interested to see and learn about how small businesses and entrepreneurs are different than those in the U.S. and how much they effect the economy. We also had to research some key points in the recent history of South Africa. While doing this we learned about the St. James Massacre of 1993 and how brutal the Azanian Peoples’ Liberation Army were to the members of that church. We recently found out that we will be visiting that church and get to see holes in the floor from an explosion and bullet holes in the pews (I will be sure to post many photos!). For those of you who are not familiar with me, I am a big fan of food! I am very excited to try many new dishes that the culture has to offer. False Bay is also going to be one of the major highlights of the trip. Here is a picture of the stunning view we will have!False Bay

 

Overall the experience will be very enlightening and I am sure I will learn more than I ever expected possible.

If no one has mentioned it already, the Professor that is taking us is Dr. Tobin Turner. He is making sure that we are going to have the most outrageously fun and exciting trip we could ever imagine possible.

And for those of you who like to picture the person you are reading about…..

Photo on 2013-05-01 at 23.01

 

Thanks for reading my blog!

-Will Varner

Leave a Reply

