Pre-Trip Expectations

It’s hard to know where to start when asked about pre-trip expectations. I think I’ll just think of it chronologically.

First, I don’t know what to expect once I leave school on Saturday because I know once I get in my car and head home to Tallahassee, reality will hit me. Even though we will be arriving about this time in two weeks, I still haven’t grasped the idea that not only will I be leaving the country for the first time, I will be in South Africa. South Africa?! Whenever I tell someone that I am going there to study abroad for about two weeks, everyone tells me I will have an amazing and life-changing time. I guess you can say my expectations are pretty high at this point!

Getting there is going to be a struggle. Since I do live in Florida, and I am meeting up with my class in Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, I have somehow get myself there. The best option is for me to fly up the day before and stay with my roommate who lives in Spartanburg. I expect to already be exhausted before it is even the official time to leave. Finally, it will be time to check in to our first official flight of the Maymester and I know I will be so excited! Hopefully I will settle down and get plenty of sleep on the planes because it is going to take quite some time to get there!

Once we’re there, I really don’t know what to expect. Of course I will want to see everything! I’m interesting seeing just how great the difference in between the least fortunate and the most fortunate. I am looking forward to seeing all the different types of businesses and lifestyles. I’m interesting in learning how many small businesses there are versus how many large corporations are present, which type is more prevalent, and which is superior. As a tourist (hopefully nobody will notice!), I’m curious to see how much tourism affects the area. And don’t let me forget that I can’t wait to see the animals!

The topic we researched for the first test regarding our trip that I was most interested in was the St. James Church Massacre. Everything I saw about it just blew my mind. From the photos to the newspaper articles, I just couldn’t believe that it was real. I am so blessed to not have been in such a situation that would allow me to understand just what went on that day and since then. I expect that it will be extremely powerful to visit the church and attend a service there.

One last thing that I would like to mention is that I’ve spent a bit too much time during this crazy exam week looking up pictures of South Africa on Pinterest. I must say that there isn’t a single thing than I’m not excited to see or learn about!  http://pinterest.com/morganbetty93/south-african-maymester/

 

Leave a Reply

