Pre-Trip Expectations

Only a week and a couple days away. South Africa is calling my name.  Never in my life did I think I would get the chance to take such a amazing trip to a place enriched with history. I have always wanted to travel to a different country to experience a different culture and to get a better perspective of life outside the US.  To be honest, traveling to South Africa never crossed my mind.  I did not know much about South Africa, other than hearing about the World Cup in 2010.  When I first heard of the Maymester, I was skeptical.  I thought that there would be better options in the future and didn’t know if I would be able to work it out.

A huge reason for me choosing to go to South Africa was that a few of my friends had decided to go.  But, after researching South Africa and learning what we would be doing, I knew that I could not turn down this amazing opportunity; I feel sure that no other trip could measure up to the experience I will have.  I am excited to get the chance to explore the beautiful city of Cape Town and to see all that it has to offer.  It will be a brand new experience all the way around, from my first flight to my first safari and much more.  I am truly grateful for the opportunity to go and experience South Africa with a great group of people.  I have no doubt that this will be the trip of a lifetime. I can not wait!

Cape Town

Leave a Reply

