Day 1- Kyle Shirley

Taking the cable car to the top of Table Mountain

Taking the cable car to the top of Table Mountain

DSCN0205

Looking North on the top of Table Montain

The first day started suddenly when i woke up wondering where in the world I was.  It took me a few seconds and a look out my hotel window to remember i had just my way across the Atlantic ocean the day before and I was in Africa for the first time in my life.  It finally hit me that I was actually in Africa!

From the hotel room everyone on our trip from PC went down to a meeting room on the first floor.  We met Stuart Hendry there who thought us of the incredible history of South Africa.  Stuart talked spoke on Purpose and how having a purpose in life gives our life meaning.  Purpose is what wakes us up in the morning and keeps us going all day.  Stuart challenged us to figure out what our purpose is in life.  What I discovered along with Stuart’s help was that many young people are not living their own purpose out, we are just doing what the world says we are supposed to do.  A true leader though is somebody that rises above that and discovers their own passion and purpose for the reason they are on this earth

After Stuart’s talks we had lunch and took taxi to the base of table mountain.  From there we took a cable car to the top.  The view from the top of the mountain was absolutely breath taking.  It was odd for me to be on top of a huge mountain right beside the ocean. This is something i was unaccustomed to being in the states on the east coast, where the beaches are a days drive away from the ocean.

I’m excited for the times to come and the sights to see over the next week!

Kyle

Leave a Reply

