Day 3-Sunday

Day 3-sunday

Today we went to the 10:00 service at St. James Church.  This church is historically known for the St. James massacre that took place on July 25th 1993.  Four cadres from Azanian Peoples Liberation Armie (APLA) stormed into the church and opened gunfire killing 11 people and wounding 58 others.  I had no idea that we were going to a real church service till this morning and when I heard I was thrilled.  I expected to see an old beat up church with bullet holes in the pews and plaques offering historical information but the experience was far from that.  They have built on from the original sanctuary and now have a more modern/bigger sanctuary where their congregation meets each Sunday.  The service was fantastic and it as so incredible to be half way around the world but see people coming together to worship Jesus Christ!  It blew my mind and was a super encouraging time spent with the rest of PC students.

 

After church we went on a hike up Table Mountain.  In my I had planned that since this hike was meant for everyone on the trip that it would not be all that hard but I was way wrong.  The hike was literally straight up almost the entire time and took about an hour and a half to get to the top.  I loved every minute of it, but I will say that everyone on the trip took a beating from the sun and the boulders that we had to climb.  We all took our own paces to get up the mountain and some did not move as fast as others but I am proud to say that every single person that started the climb ended up at the top in triumph!  It was a great bonding experience being able to push and encourage one another on to the next step.  Some sweet pictures were taken in the process and celebrating at the top was made the hike the highlight of the trip for me.  Fantastic Day!

beginning view of hike

long way to go!

H.Gray

Leave a Reply

